binary zoo
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 22, 2018, 06:28:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
30178 Posts in 1158 Topics by 195 Members
Latest Member: dianeanderson
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  binary zoo
|-+  Game Development
| |-+  Guest Dev Blogs (Moderator: JDog053)
| | |-+  PT3D - procedural terrain creation tool
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7 Go Down Print
Author Topic: PT3D - procedural terrain creation tool  (Read 18357 times)
Prime_8
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2012, 09:35:05 PM »

any one have a link to a simple standalone multi point gradient editor ?
i don't want to have to make one . lol

:: now support mix modes and blending of a height map into the procedural.

working on gradient mixing soon .

rar http://forums.nuclearglory.com/index.php?act=downloadattach&atid=3448


* road_blending_7.jpg (148.21 KB, 940x578 - viewed 310 times.)
« Last Edit: April 05, 2012, 09:41:09 PM by Prime_8 » Logged

T_M_C
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3000

TMC


View Profile Email
« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2012, 05:46:42 AM »

Excellent.   Cheesy

Sorry, i don't have a gradient editor.   Sad

TMC
Logged
fog
Zookeeper
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13185



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2012, 01:18:18 PM »

Yeah needless to say I don't have a multi point gradient editor either Smiley

I like the look of the building ruins in that screenie though.
Logged

Prime_8
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: April 06, 2012, 02:07:56 PM »

gradient editor ..
http://www.devenezia.com/downloads/gradient/index.html

very cool saves as a 1 x 1366 pixel high color bmp ..

:: cheers guys .

more pics today .. in a min


* gradient_test_1a.jpg (111.07 KB, 657x520 - viewed 336 times.)

* gradient_test_2.jpg (85.87 KB, 630x567 - viewed 308 times.)
Logged

T_M_C
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3000

TMC


View Profile Email
« Reply #19 on: April 06, 2012, 03:18:14 PM »

Nice find Prime.

I can see that Gradient editor comming in really handy.

I've downloaded it for future reference.

Cool pics.

TMC
Logged
Prime_8
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: April 06, 2012, 09:27:15 PM »

yeah except it has fixed max number of blend points ..
LOL but very nice.


i like it has teh parametric / curve values.

lol testing fullscreen editing mode.


* workingInFullscreen_1.jpg (198.88 KB, 1366x768 - viewed 300 times.)
Logged

T_M_C
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3000

TMC


View Profile Email
« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2012, 06:23:30 AM »

Looks good.

How do you navigate between the Gui and 3d display.

Ie, if you want to fly around the 3d scene, do you hold down a mouse button and use the keys to move.

Or, press a key for fly mode or something ?

I'm not sure what to do with my system.

Swapping between Gui and Gameplay area.

TMC
Logged
Prime_8
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2012, 01:22:54 PM »

click in 3d .  the GUI hides as it is a window .  
then use mouse look and arrow keys here .
so press 'v' initiates mouse look .. and then arrow keys to 'fly , mouse wheel is for smal moves forward and back .

press a 'key'  't' in this case shows the GUI tool window  , and pops it to top of app .



* gradient_test_8.jpg (193.22 KB, 976x737 - viewed 334 times.)
« Last Edit: April 07, 2012, 01:47:38 PM by Prime_8 » Logged

T_M_C
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3000

TMC


View Profile Email
« Reply #23 on: April 07, 2012, 02:05:30 PM »

Ahh.

Thats a good idea.

I hadn't thought about clicking in the main window and hiding the gui.

I think for my system, i'll use a cursors keys to move around the 2d map, left mouse click selects images and right mouse click and drag to move images.

And then have various buttons for other uses.

My old editor didn't use a gui, so i didn't have the issue of swapping between the 2d display and gui.

TMC
Logged
Prime_8
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: April 08, 2012, 01:42:20 AM »

here i embed teh 3d into the fltk window using some api tricks .

http://www.binaryzoo.com/forum/index.php?topic=1366.msg26849#new

i personaly like ingame / in engine editors. 
Logged

Prime_8
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: April 08, 2012, 01:55:39 PM »

it's easy to use your own height maps made in 3rd party app.

just convert it to a png .


have a look :


::  latest usage video ..


* advancedusage_1.jpg (205.87 KB, 934x806 - viewed 310 times.)
Logged

fog
Zookeeper
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13185



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #26 on: April 09, 2012, 03:08:26 PM »

Nice.  Always have a little laugh when I see the FPS counter on your videos and screenies.  We aren't quite in "this needs to be optimised" territory yet then Smiley
Logged

Prime_8
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile WWW
« Reply #27 on: April 09, 2012, 07:36:24 PM »

lol.. fast faster ...... lol


here is a wee tut on how to use your own existing height maps and such to make a mesh

Logged

Prime_8
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: April 10, 2012, 11:10:09 AM »

i have teh texture preview thumbs working now .

and more of the tex' sockets are functional .. with actions being linked to te texure gui section .

allowing for way more control over results.

BUT  i have found a memory leak ,  ~1mb per build / generation . ( only in single core XP rigs )

i have started tracking it daown and i think it is the perling class...  each instance uses about 1mb ,
i think the   p=new perlin()  , has a defective or empty destructor. ?
i will test later .. any how , all the ram gets returned at app exit .. so my final cleanup is working ...  LOL


* advancedBM_nThumbs_1.jpg (220.44 KB, 1205x572 - viewed 299 times.)
« Last Edit: April 10, 2012, 11:15:35 AM by Prime_8 » Logged

T_M_C
1000 XP
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3000

TMC


View Profile Email
« Reply #29 on: April 10, 2012, 12:42:39 PM »

I remember having to track down a memory leak from one of my old games.

Took ages to find.

I also discovered that the free memory fluctuates quite a bit even when the app isn't doing anything, which suprised me.

Do you use a form editor to create your gui layouts or do you place it all by hand ?

Looking good by the way.   Smiley

TMC
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7 Go Up Print 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!